Mercy Mercy

That track has been rattling around in my brain for the last couple of week. It seems to have got stuck there when i recently read / saw reference to Nick Cave being ‘a deeply religious’ man. His work has always been allegorical, with Bible (fucking bible!) stories obviously having a big influence. My assumption was that he was intrigued by the obvious flaws of the old testament god, a deity best described as ‘a mean motherfucker, with some serious issues’, with the crazy contradictions of the apocryphal books…

It never really occurred to me that he might actually be serious considering the idea of a personal god / personal salvation. I’m having a hard time putting the drug using, hard drinking, good living, wildly misanthropic man that provided much of the soundtrack to my youth, into the context of a God fearing seeker of forgiveness for past sins…

Hot on the heels of Penrose comes H.P. Lovecraft (haven’t enjoyed fiction this much in ages!) with this rather pithy quote:

All I say is that I think it is damned unlikely that anything like a central cosmic will, a spirit world, or an eternal survival of personality exist. They are the most preposterous and unjustified of all the guesses which can be made about the universe, and I am not enough of a hair-splitter to pretend that I don’t regard them as arrant and negligible moonshine. In theory I am an agnostic, but pending the appearance of radical evidence I must be classed, practically and provisionally, as an atheist.

Which comes pretty close to my view of things: i see no reason to care, but given that so many do, i’ll happily sign up as an ardent non-believer.

2 thoughts on “Mercy Mercy

  1. Almost 10 years ago I read an essay Nick Cave had written in some Melbourne newspaper about biblical themes in songs, including Bony M’s “By the Rivers of Babylon”. Like, “Whoa! Nick Cave’s writing about Bony M and the Bible!”

Wise words...

