Friends

In a blog post about an article on being downwardly mobile in america, this says it all really:

Saddest line in the story: “Even though she has parted ways with some friends because she is no longer in their social stratum … ” I’ll have to get a new dictionary. The one I have seems to have an obsolete definition of the word “friend.”

It was only yesterday that i was trying to express how odd it had been trying to have a social life in america… this says more than i ever could. My feeling is that the psychology behind this is quite simple – it’s disturbing to have to deal with friends who have fallen on hard times, so everyone accepts that they just disappear…

2 thoughts on “Friends

  1. Never been to the land of the free, but when I lived in Thailand I had a very good friend who was dropped by everyone she knew , including people she’d known for 20 years when she started having mental health issues.
    Unlike me to defend the septics I know, but maybe ‘friend’ doesn’t mean to most people what it means to some of us.

    Disclaimer:some of my best friends are Americans.

  2. Can’t claim to understand how ‘friend’ can mean, “someone that i can tolerate being around, and in some way with whom it is acceptable to be seen”… but i’m willing to give it a go. Doesn’t there have to be some element of actually liking / respecting / enjoying?

    It could be worse; there is always the ‘useful to me’ angle.

    Disclaimer: some of my best friends are human.

Wise words...

